Explain the organisational structure of Urban Local Government

The organizational structure of urban local government varies depending on the size and population of the city.

GET PDF of fully solved assignment MPA-016 or any other by click above. You can order any subject ignou solved assignments pdf, ignou handwritten assignments pdf or ignou Handwritten Assignments hard copy from above link.

However, broadly speaking, the urban local government in India is comprised of the following:

  1. Municipal Corporation: Municipal Corporation is the apex body of the urban local government. It is responsible for the overall management and administration of the city. The corporation is headed by the Mayor, who is elected by the members of the corporation.
  2. Municipal Council: Municipal Councils are formed in small towns and urban areas. The council is headed by the President, who is elected by the members of the council. The council is responsible for the administration and management of the urban local body.
  3. Ward Committees: The urban local government is divided into different wards, and each ward has a Ward Committee. The Ward Committee is responsible for the management and administration of the ward. The committee is headed by a Chairperson who is elected by the members of the committee.
  4. Standing Committees: Standing Committees are formed to oversee specific areas of administration such as finance, public works, health, and education. These committees are responsible for formulating policies and making recommendations to the municipal corporation or council.
  5. Commissioner: The Commissioner is the administrative head of the urban local body. He or she is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the city and oversees the work of the different departments.
  6. Departmental Heads: The different departments of the urban local government are headed by departmental heads. These departments include finance, public works, health, education, and others.
  7. Staff: The urban local government employs staff for the different departments, and they are responsible for implementing the policies and decisions made by the different committees and departmental heads.

In conclusion, the organizational structure of the urban local government comprises different bodies, committees, and departments that work together to manage and administer the city. The structure is designed to ensure that the administration is efficient, accountable, and responsive to the needs of the citizens.

Leave a Comment